Honors and Awards
Biography Photo Gallery Bernie's SongHonors and AwardsMemorial Statements

Bernard E. Witkin received many awards and accolades throughout his long career, of which the following are among the most significant:

The Witkin Medal

The State Bar of California presents the Witkin Medal annually to recognize lawyers, judges, or academics “who, through a career of extraordinary service, have made significant contributions to the quality of justice and legal scholarship in our state.”

The recipients of the Witkin Medal are:

1993 Bernard Witkin

1994 Raymond Sullivan

1995 Gerald Gunther

1996 William Rutter

1997 Bernard Jefferson

1998 Stanley Mosk

1999 Joseph Ball

2000 Dorothy Nelson

2001 Norman Epstein

2002 Seth and Shirley Hufstedler

2003 Robert Raven

2004 Thelton Henderson

2005 Ronald George

2006 Elwood Lui

2007 Alex Kozinski

2008 John Van de Kamp

2009 Cruz Reynoso

2010 Beth Jay

2011 Joan Dempsey Klein

2012 Jesse Choper

2013 Carlos Moreno

2014 Erwin Chemerinsky

2015 Anthony Kennedy

2016 Constance Rice

2017 no medal awarded

The Francis Rawle Award

The 1994 Rawle Award was presented to Bernard E. Witkin by the American Law Institute and the American Bar Association for "outstanding contributions to the continuing education of the legal profession."

Institutions, Programs, and Awards Named for Bernard E. Witkin

  • The Bernard E. Witkin State Law Library of California
  • The Bernard E. Witkin Alameda County Law Library
  • The B. E. Witkin Judicial College of California
  • The Witkin Medal, presented annually by the State Bar of California
  • The Bernard E. Witkin Amicus Curiae Award, presented annually by the California Judicial Council
  • The Bernard E. Witkin, Esq. Award, presented annually by the San Diego Law Library Justice Foundation
  • The Bernard E. Witkin Lifetime Achievement Award, presented annually by the Fresno County Bar Association
  • The Bernard E. Witkin Award for Excellence in Appellate Advocacy, presented annually at the Roger J. Traynor California Appellate Moot Court Competition
  • The Witkin Award of Academic Excellence, presented to top students at California law schools by the Witkin Legal Institute

Witkin Home | Witkin Library | Developments | Research
B. E. Witkin | Institute | Programs | Moot Court
Witkin Award | Contact | West Group

Site Map


Copyright 2005 B.E. Witkin Article Sixth Testamentary Trust
Copyright 2005 Thomson Information Services

Last updated
Monday, June 18, 2018